Learn More!

About the project

The Northstar Digital Literacy Project defines basic skills needed to perform tasks on computers and online. The ability of adults to perform these tasks can be assessed through online, self-guided modules. Included are basic computer digital literacy standards and modules in ten main areas: Basic Computer Use, Internet, Windows Operating System, Mac OS, Email, Microsoft Word, Social Media, Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, and Information Literacy. Northstar is an assessment, not a curriculum.

When individuals pass the assessments at approved sites, they can obtain the Northstar Digital Literacy Certificate. This provides a credential for employment. There is no cost to complete the online assessments.

Jump in and launch a module


News & Announcements

Northstar Upograde now in Progress

Nov 06, 2017 12:26pm

Northstar receives lead gift towards upgrade

Sep 27, 2017 9:30am

Enabling Flash Player in Chrome Browser

Mar 16, 2017 1:00pm

Mozilla Badging Issue Resolved

Mar 07, 2017 1:00pm

View more stories

Latest Tweets


Project sponsors and partners

Privacy Policy